Back to listing

16th Speech Science and Technology (SST2016), 6-9 December 2016

Learning, Processing, Western Sydney University

Date: 5 May 2016

The Australasian Speech Science and Technology Association is pleased to announce the call for papers for the 16th Australasian International Conference on Speech Science and Technology (SST2016). This conference will mark the 30-year anniversary of the first SST conference held in Canberra in 1986.

Location: Sydney, Australia

Dates: 6-9 December 2016

Host Institution: Western Sydney University

Deadline for paper submissions: 17 June 2016

Notification of acceptance: 31 August 2016


Submissions are invited in all areas of speech science and technology, including:

  • Acoustic phonetics
  • Applications of speech science and technology
  • Audiology
  • Australasian Languages (phonetics/phonology)
  • Corpus management and speech tools
  • First language acquisition (perception/production)
  • Forensic phonetics
  • Hearing and hearing impairment
  • Pedagogical technologies for speech
  • Second language acquisition (perception/production)
  • Sociophonetics
  • Speaker recognition and classification
  • Speech engineering and modelling
  • Speech pathology
  • Speech perception
  • Speech production
  • Speech prosody, emotional speech, voice
  • Speech synthesis and speech recognition

 Keynote Speakers:

  • Professor Harald Baayen (U. Tübingen)
  • Professor Shrikanth (Shri) Narayanan (U. Southern California)
  • Associate Professor Leher Singh (National U. Singapore)

We are inviting two categories of submission, 4 page papers and 1 page abstracts. Papers will be considered for a 20-minute oral presentations or posters, as well as publication in the proceedings. Abstracts will be considered for poster presentation only and will not be included in the proceedings.

If you have any questions concerning the submission procedure or if you encounter any problems, please contact

  • Australian Government
  • The University of Queensland
  • Australian National University
  • The University of Melbourne
  • Western Sydney University