Advisory Committee

Kate Burridge Professor

Kate Burridge

Professor Kate Burridge is a prominent Australian linguist and the current Chair of Linguistics at Monash University. Kate completed her undergraduate training in Linguistics and German at the University of Western Australia. She completed her PhD in 1983 on syntactic change in medieval Dutch. This was followed by three years postgraduate study at the University of London. Kate is also the author of many books, a regular guest on ABC radio and recently presented a TED talk in Sydney on Euphemisms in English.

Craig Cornelius

Craig Cornelius

  • Institution: Google Inc

Craig Cornelius is a senior software engineer at Google, with special skills in internationalisation, imaging, computer graphics, analysis, and enhancing understanding and interaction with visual information. He has added Google search in approximately 20 countries and languages, including Albania, 
numerous African countries, Myanmar, and others, designing virtual keyboards for Cherokee, Sorani, Kurdish and Burmese in close collaboration with speakers. He has also worked with Cherokee Nation representatives to support the Cherokee language in Google 
Search, GMail, and other products.

Jennifer Hay Professor

Jennifer Hay

Jen Hay is a professor of linguistics at the University of Canterbury and has primary research interests in New Zealand English, sociophonetics, laboratory phonology and morphology. She is Director of the New Zealand Institute of Language, Brain and Behaviour, and is involved in collaborative interdisciplinary projects with a number of faculty in the institute.

Anne-Marie Morgan Dr

Anne-Marie Morgan

Anne-Marie Morgan is Head of School in the School of Education at the University of New England. Anne-Marie manages the School’s People and Culture portfolio, with stewardship of wellbeing and professional support initiatives within the School. Anne-Marie is actively involved in community and industry work for the profession, including being President Elect of the peak umbrella association for teachers of languages, the AFMLTA; and for languages teaching, as a member of LCNAU; and for literacy education through being vice President of the Northern NSW regional Council of ALEA. She frequently represents the profession with governments, education jurisdictions and education agencies. She is currently advising on introducing primary languages teaching specialisations in teaching degrees, through the NSW Council of Deans of Education.

Ralph Regenvanu Hon.

Ralph Regenvanu

Ralph Regenvanu has been a Member of Parliament in the Republic of Vanuatu since 2008. Ralph came to national prominence as cultural activist, committed to the promotion and preservation of local knowledge in one of the most linguistically diverse regions of the world. He was a founding member of the Pacific Islands Museum Association and has been director of the Vanuatu National Cultural Council and Vanuatu Cultural Centre. His achievement is recognised with the title of Chavalier dans l”ordre des Art et des Lettres (Knight in the Order of Arts and Letters) by the government of France, while the Nende people of South West Bay, Malakula have conferred him the honour of Libehkamel Tah Tomat (Caretaker of the Sacred Nakamal).

Lia Tedesco

Lia Tedesco

Lia Tedesco began her involvement in languages education as a teacher of Italian at secondary level. She has been involved with numerous state and national level curriculum development projects and policy initiatives, including the Australian Language Level (ALL) Guidelines and the National Statement and Profile for Languages Other Than English. She was the Manager of Languages with the South Australian Department of Education for many years, prior to her appointment as Principal of the School of Languages in 2000. Since that time she was seconded on two occasions to undertake projects for the Ministerial Council of Education, Employment, Training and Youth Affairs (MCEETYA) – she conducted the 2003 Review of Languages Education in Australian Schools, and she developed the National Statement and National Plan for Languages Education in Australian Schools. In addition to her ongoing role as Principal at the School of Languages, she continued to serve the MCEETYA Languages Working Party as Executive Officer for many years as it oversaw the implementation of the National Statement and Plan. She also served as President of the Australian Federation of Modern Languages Teachers Associations (AFMLTA) from 2006 – 2008. She continues in her role as Principal of the South Australian School of Languages, and continues to be involved in state wide and national Languages education initiatives.

Anthony Woodbury Professor (Chair)

Anthony Woodbury

Anthony C. Woodbury earned his B.A. in Linguistics in 1975 from the University of Chicago and his Ph.D. in Linguistics from the University of California at Berkeley in 1981. He has taught in the UT Linguistics Department since 1980, and served as its chair, 1998-2006. He was elected President of the Society for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of the Americas for the year 2005; and he received the UT Graduate School’s Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award for 2008. His research focuses on the indigenous languages of the Americas, and what they reveal about human linguistic diversity. Since 2003, he has been engaged, together with current and former students, in the documentation and description of Chatino, an Otomanguean language group of Oaxaca, Mexico, supported by grants from the Endangered Language Documentation Programme and the National Science Foundation. Earlier, he worked on Yupik-Inuit-Aleut languages of Alaska, especially Cup’ik. Themes in his writing have included tone and prosody, morphology, syntax, historical linguistics, ethnopoetics, language endangerment and preservation, and documentary linguistics. He is also co-director of the digital Archive for Indigenous Languages of Latin America ( at the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies, which is supported in part by a grant from the National Science Foundation.

Recent Publications

  1. Cupik (Eskimo-Aleut)


    Woodbury, Anthony. 2017. "Cupik (Eskimo-Aleut)". In The Oxford Handbook of Polysynthesis, 536-559. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

  • Australian Government
  • The University of Queensland
  • Australian National University
  • The University of Melbourne
  • Western Sydney University