Back to listing

CoEDL’s emerging researchers secure next-step funding

Date: 10 November 2017

It’s wonderful to see CoEDL’s emerging researchers attracting considerable funding in today’s ARC announcements.

CoEDL postdocs Hannah Sarvasy and John Mansfield have each received a Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA), as has Affiliate Joshua Nash.

Hannah Sarvasy’s project aims to produce a framework for analysis of the ultra-long sentences that occur in hundreds of languages and John Mansfield will investigate how Aboriginal languages evolve in, and shape, Aboriginal engagement in cities. Joshua Nash aims to expand knowledge of how different social environments affect language structure and use and will be analysing Pitkern, the Pitcairn Island language which is on the brink of extinction

Congratulations to our many other CoEDL members who have also received funding.

CoEDL Chief Investigator Janet Fletcher, CoEDL Associate Investigator Brett Baker and CoEDL Affiliate Rikke Bundgaard-Nielsen will use a new Discovery Project grant to examine speakers’ knowledge of super-complex words in the remote Australian language Wubuy.

Affiliates Rachel Hendery and Patrick McConvell, along with Laurent Dousset and Simeon Simoff have received a Discovery Project grant to determine the extent and nature of ancient contact relationships between first peoples of Australia and the Pacific by exploring linguistic interactions.

Affiliate Joe Blythe, Associate Investigator Ilana Mushin, Affiliate Lesley Stirling and Roderick Gardner have a Discovery Project grant to re-examine claims that Aboriginal Australians conduct conversations in different ways to Anglo-Australians.

Affiliate Johanna Rendle-Short is also in a team with Susan Danby, Stuart Ekberg, Patsy Yates, Anthony Herbert, Natalie Bradford and Myra Bluebond-Langner, looking at ways to sensitively communicate with children in palliative care.

 more detail on these grants, please visit the ARC.

  • Australian Government
  • The University of Queensland
  • Australian National University
  • The University of Melbourne
  • Western Sydney University