International Year of Indigenous Languages

The Centre is a proud partner of the UNESCO International Year of Indigenous Languages 2019. Our researchers are at the forefront of working with indigenous communities to document, preserve and revitalise the precious linguistic heritage of Australia and the Asia-Pacific region.

2 January 2019

Takataka: Gurindji Sign Language videos

Gurindji sign language video

Jenny Green and Felicity Meakins have collaborated with Cassandra Algy and other Gurindji people, and the Karungkarni Art and Culture Aboriginal Corporation, to produce 15 short videos demonstrating signs for people, places, artefacts and actions. Watch them on ICTV...

17 December 2018

Historic seminar in an Indigenous language

Nguvudirr Jeremiah Tunmuck and John Mansfield

In September, the Research Unit for Indigenous Languages at the University of Melbourne hosted a unique seminar on language. The seminar was presented by Nguvudirr Jeremiah Tunmuck, an Indigenous man from Wadeye, Northern Territory. Read more...

13 December 2018

Passing on valuable linguistic knowledge

Janet Marawarr at Summer School

On November 26 and 27, the Bininj Kunwok Regional Language Centre supported travel for Kalidjan Janet Marawarr from Bábbarra to attend the Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language and their annual Summer School in Canberra to take part in a community engagement session. Read more...

1 December 2018

The remote Indigenous community where a few thousand people use 15 different languages

Maningrida community match

On Australia’s remote north-central coast, the small community of Maningrida is remarkable for many reasons, writes Dr Jill Vaughan. Read more...

 27 November 2018

Meet Rodney Adams, a Koori deaf researcher taking in Summer School

Koori Deaf Mob

 Rodney Adams is a lecturer, researcher, a Koori – and deaf – and he’s at the Centre’s Summer School this week.


  • Australian Government
  • The University of Queensland
  • Australian National University
  • The University of Melbourne
  • Western Sydney University