The 2017 Summer School program offers courses in three streams over four days (Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday). Each course consists of four 1.5 hour sessions over the four days. Each course will have the same timeslot each day. 

There will also be a half day FLEx course on Wednesday 29 November in the Engma Room (5019) in the HC Coombs Building.

A public lecture will be held on Tuesday 28 November in the evening in the HC Coombs Lecture Theatre.

Proposed daily schedule

  • Registration from 8am until 9am
  • Morning tea from 10:30am until 11:00am
  • Lunch from 12:30pm until 2:00pm
  • Afternoon tea from 3:30pm until 4:00pm
  • Social events from 6:00pm


Course: Quantitative methods in language typology

Instructors: Damian Blasi & Balthasar Bickell

Course: Tense, aspect & variation

Instructor: Marie-Eve Ritz

Course: Sociolinguistics in the 21st Century 

Instructors: Catherine Travis, James Grama & Simón Gonzales


Course: Archaeology & linguistics of Australia

Instructors: Nick Evans, Peter Hiscock & others

Course: Processing typology & "typologizing" processing

Instructors: Heather Kember, Karen Mulak & Alba Tuninetti

Course: Typological universals in diachronic perspective

Instructor: Sonia Cristofaro


Course: African languages & linguistics

Instructors: Hannah Sarvasy, Mengisti Amberber & Rosey Billington

Course: Tibeto-Burman languages in a typological perspective

Instructor: Gwen Hyslop

Course: Language contact & morphology

Instructors: Felicity Meakins & Francesco Gardani


Course: Language universals 

Instructor: Martin Haspelmath


Course: Language acquisition & variation

Instructor: Sabine Stoll

  • Australian Government
  • The University of Queensland
  • Australian National University
  • The University of Melbourne
  • Western Sydney University

Subscribe to our newsletter